Them – Time’s gettin’ tougher than tough (1965?)

maxresdefault

Them were a formidable, popular group in their own right before singer Van Morrison went on to even greater fame. They forged their hard-nosed R&B sound in Belfast, Northern Ireland, moving to England in 1964 after landing a deal with Decca Records. The band’s simmering sound was dominated by boiling organ riffs, lean guitars, and the tough vocals of lead singer Van Morrison, whose recordings with Them rank among the very best performances of the British Invasion. And is there a single bar band in America that doesn’t play “Gloria,” shouting “G-L-O-R-I-A” just like the 19-year-old Morrison in 1964?

A well money’s gettin’ cheaper
Price is gettin’ steeper
I found a little woman
But I just couldn’t keep her

Times gettin’ tougher than tough
Times gettin’ rougher than rough
Well I make alot of money
I just keep spendin’ the stuff

Oh well pork chops on the market
Ask the butcher for a pound
I couldn’t get no pork chop
When I laid my money down

Times gettin’ tougher than tough
Times gettin’ rougher than rough
Well I make alot of money
I just keep spendin’ the stuff

Oh well the politicans say
Get the people on their feet
They wanna cut the price
And let the people eat

Times gettin’ tougher than tough
The times gettin’ rougher than rough
But I make alot of money
Just keep spendin’ the stuff

Well I can’t afford to live
I guess I’ll have to try
Undertakers got a union
And it cost too much to die

Times gettin’ tougher than tough
Well times gettin’ rougher than rough
Well I make alot of money
Just keep spendin’ the stuff

Also listen:
Jimmy Witherspoon (original version, 1950)

Elton John (Red Dwight, 1965)

About Der Landstreicher

Ιδού η αληθινή Ταϊτή, δηλαδή: πιστά πλασμένη με τη φαντασία μου. (Πολ Γκογκέν και Σαρλ Μορίς)............... Είμαστε εμείς οι ονειροπαρμένοι τρελλοί της γης με τη φλογισμένη καρδιά και τα έξαλλα μάτια. (Γιώργος Μακρής).............. Und wollt ihr wissen, wer ich bin, ich weiß es selber nicht, ich irre so durchs Leben hin, weiß nicht, wo ich zu Hause bin und will es wissen nicht. (Landstreicherlied, Arnold Waldwagner)...........

Leave a Reply

