The Shanes: I Don’t Want Your Love (Sweden, 1965, Columbia, DB7601 UK release)

During the mid to late 60’s, the Shanes were one of the most popular bands in Sweden Shanes (the hailed from Tuolluvaara)
along with the Hep Stars, the Tages, and Ola & The Janglers landing a string of top ten hit singles. At the beginning of 1965, the Shanes got their big break when they toured all over Sweden, and were chased by hysterical fans.


In the Spring of 67, 4 members of the Shanes were drafted to the Swedish military. A year later, after their service, the Shanes found music to be a lot different. This lead to the breaking up of the Shanes.

They released one single in Britain on Columbia Records, the killer “I Don’t Want Your Love”, but it did not chart there.

Staffan Berggren (guitar/vocals), Tommy Wahlberg (guitar/vocals), Svante Elfgren (bass guitar), Tor-Erik Rautio (drummer), Lennart Grahn (vocals), Kit Sundqvist (electric organ/piano/vocals), Rolf Carvenius (various wind instruments)


About Der Landstreicher

Ιδού η αληθινή Ταϊτή, δηλαδή: πιστά πλασμένη με τη φαντασία μου. (Πολ Γκογκέν και Σαρλ Μορίς)............... Είμαστε εμείς οι ονειροπαρμένοι τρελλοί της γης με τη φλογισμένη καρδιά και τα έξαλλα μάτια. (Γιώργος Μακρής).............. Und wollt ihr wissen, wer ich bin, ich weiß es selber nicht, ich irre so durchs Leben hin, weiß nicht, wo ich zu Hause bin und will es wissen nicht. (Landstreicherlied, Arnold Waldwagner)...........

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: