Sir Winston and the Commons – We’re Gonna Love/Come Back Again – Soma 1454 (1966)


Sir Winston and the Commons (best known for their “Back-from-the-Grave killer fuzz anthem We ‘re gonna love) originally formed in 1963. The members of the band consisted of Don Basore from Northwest High School, Joe Stout and Gary Crawford from Ben Davis High School and John Medvescek and Ron Matelic from the old Cathedral High School. Don played bass, Gary and Ron played guitars, Joe played sax and John was the drummer. The band’s first name was The Illusions, but was soon changed to The Suspicions.

We’ re gonna love:

Their repertoire at that time consisted mainly of instrumental surf music and other classics such as Honky Tonk and Harlem Nocturne. Their first shows were at parties, VFW dances, and promotions for Paul Harvey Ford and Dog & Suds drive in. With the advent of the British invasion in 1964, the band, like everyone else, assimilated the new British sound. The surf sound and instrumentals were eventually dropped in favor of the current chart toppers of the day, and Herb Crawford from Speedway High School replaced Gary Crawford on guitar. A new booking agent who wanted to capitalize on the ever growing English musical dominance suggested that the band’s name be changed to Sir Winston and the Commons. For several years, they played a number of college fraternity dances and were fortunate enough to have all the local teen venues like Party Time, The Flame Club, the House of Sound, Westlake Beach Club, Tiger a’GoGo, the Scene, the Indiana Roof Ballroom, and the Whiteland barn, to perform for the Indianapolis teen crowd.

Come back again:


We’re Gonna Love / Come Back Again – Soma 1454 (1966)

Not the Spirit of India / One Last Chance – Nauseating Butterfly 2207 (1967)

There are two other fantastic acetate demos “All Of The Time” & “No Sorrow” included in Norton Records 60’s “you tore my brain” Comps.



About Der Landstreicher

Ιδού η αληθινή Ταϊτή, δηλαδή: πιστά πλασμένη με τη φαντασία μου. (Πολ Γκογκέν και Σαρλ Μορίς)............... Είμαστε εμείς οι ονειροπαρμένοι τρελλοί της γης με τη φλογισμένη καρδιά και τα έξαλλα μάτια. (Γιώργος Μακρής).............. Und wollt ihr wissen, wer ich bin, ich weiß es selber nicht, ich irre so durchs Leben hin, weiß nicht, wo ich zu Hause bin und will es wissen nicht. (Landstreicherlied, Arnold Waldwagner)...........

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: